Mower County Ditch Board


County Ditch Board – Drainage Authority

County Ditch Board exists to discuss and approve matters related to public ditches and drainage. Public ditches were originally constructed to drain land and to collect water quickly and efficiently to provide better soil conditions and increase land available for the production of crops. There are seven ditch systems under the authority of the Mower County Ditch Board:  Ditch Number 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 77 & 79. These drainage systems are self-supporting financially, with funds coming from landowners benefitted by the drainage system. They are separate from ditches that run alongside roadways that were established to protect roads.

Ditch systems are regulated by Minnesota Statute 103E and are under the jurisdiction of the County Board of Commissioners. Mower County’s Drainage Authority is made up of all five (5) Mower County Commissioners. Others involved with ditch proceedings include:

Public Ditch Inspector

County Attorney

County Engineer & Public Works

Interested landowners & their representatives

State and federal agencies

Agendas & Minutes

The Mower County Ditch Board meets on an as needed basis.  Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes