Five people are elected as Mower County Commissioners, serving staggered four year terms. Commissioners work to provide services to people and communities while overseeing the cost of such services. The Mower County Board meets the first, second, and fourth Tuesday each month in the Board Room located in the Lower Level of the Mower County Government Center.  The first meeting of the month begins at 1:00 PM while the remaining begin with Human Services Board business at 8:30 AM with general business starting around 9:30 AM.

Mower County Commissioner Districts Map

1st District

The 1st District includes the following townships: Lansing, Red Rock, Udolpho, and Waltham.  The following Cities are in the first District: Brownsdale, Mapleview, Waltham, and the 1st ward, 1st Precinct of the City of Austin.

Commissioner Tim Gabrielson - Chair
23264 570th Ave, Austin, MN 55912
(507) 481-7641

Term Expires: 1/2021

2nd District

The 2nd District includes the following townships: Adams, Bennington, Clayton, Dexter, Frankford, Grand Meadow, LeRoy, Lodi, Marshall, Pleasant Valley, Racine and Sargeant.  The following cities are in the 2nd District: Adams, Dexter, Elkton, Grand Meadow, LeRoy, Racine, Sargeant and Taopi.

Commissioner Polly Glynn
P.O. Box 301, Grand Meadow, MN 55936
(507) 269-4498

Term Expires: 1/2021

3rd District

The 3rd District includes the following townships: Austin, Lyle, Nevada and Windom.  The following cities are included in the 3rd District: Lyle, Rose Creek and the 2nd Ward, 2nd Precinct of the City of Austin.

Commissioner Jerry Reinartz
2101 6th Ave SW, Austin, MN  55912
(507) 219-2205

Term Expires: 1/2019

4th District

The 4th District includes all of the 3rd Ward of the City of Austin.

Commissioner Tony Bennett
2000 13th Ave NE, Austin, MN  55912
(507) 440-1203

Term Expires: 1/2019

5th District

The 5th District includes the 1st Ward, 2nd Precinct and the 2nd Ward 1st Precinct of the City of Austin.

Commissioner Mike Ankeny
102 22nd St. NW, Austin, MN  55912
(507) 433-4157

Term Expires: 1/2019

2017 Commissioner Committee Appointments

Board Agenda

The next meeting of the Mower County Board of Commissioners is Tuesday, April 25, 2017.     Meeting Agenda


Notice of Public Hearing

In Regard to a Proposed New Solid Waste Ordinance for the regulation of waste within the County

The Mower County Board of Commissioners will hold a public hearing on Monday, April 17, 2017 5:30 p.m. in the Commissioner’s Board Room, lower level of the Mower County Government Center, 201 First Street NE, Austin, MN, to provide information and to receive public input regarding the County’s intent in relation to the following:
   1) Intent to accept the Statement of Need and Reasonableness (SONAR) document regarding solid waste and the proposed ordinance;
   2) Intent to repeal the current solid waste ordinance in its entirety and adopt a new Solid Waste Ordinance related to the regulation of waste within the County; and
   3) Intent to adopt a new fee structure to support the proposed ordinance.

 A copy of the SONAR, proposed ordinance and fee structure will be available for review in the Mower County Auditor’s Office and online HERE. Electronic copies can be provided by the Mower County Environmental Services Office by email – contact: .


/ S / Craig Oscarson
Clerk, Mower County Board

Dated: March 31, 2017

Notice of Meetings

The following information is being provided in accordance with open meeting law.

No meetings currently announced. 

Please note the Commissioners may be attending this meeting.  No action discussion will be taken on any county business at this time.

Board Meeting Minutes

Mower County Board Meeting Minutes are offered in .pdf format.


January 3, 2017 February 7, 2017 March 6, 2017
January 10, 2017 February 14, 2017 March 21, 2017
January 24, 2017 February 28, 2017 April 4, 2017

For Meeting Minutes for years 2004-2016, Click HERE for the Archive Page


Mower County Transportation Improvement Plan - March 2016

Government Center Remodel

Bid Tabulation - Bid Opening February 11, 2013
Asbestos Abatement - Bid Opening February 7, 2013

Justice Center Project

Bid Tabulation Abstract - Bid Opening March 4, 2009


Planning Commission & Board of Adjustment - Meeting Minutes Archive


Mower County Board of Commissioners
201 1st Street NE, Suite 9
Austin, MN  55912



County Board








Mower County On Line Logo