Property Tax Information
Vitals Information

Birth/Death Certificates - Marriage Licenses
Election Information
Property Auction                         
Property Adjustment Application  
License Information
Tangible Interest Marriage License
Birth Certificate Death Certificate

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Payment
· Mower County is NOT set up to take credit or debit cards at this time.
· We DO accept the following: Cash, Cashier’s Check, Money Order, or Personal Checks. **Please note if sending a personal check through the mail the requested item will be held 3 business days before being returned to requestor.
· Make payment to “Mower County”
· Checks returned for non-payment are subject to a $30.00 fee according to Minnesota Statutes.
· See specific section for required fees.  
   
 ________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Tangible Interest

All Minnesota death records and most Minnesota birth records are public. However, Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 7 limits issuance of a birth or death certificate to a person who has tangible interest. Tangible interest helps protect people who are born in Minnesota and the families of people who have died in Minnesota against fraud and identity theft.

Documentation may be required to support your claim of tangible interest.

**Even if you have tangible interest, you may not be able to get a certificate for a confidential record. Please see confidential birth records for more information.

You have tangible interest in a certificate if you are:
· the subject of the record
· the child, grandchild, spouse, parent, or grandparent of the subject
· the legal custodian, guardian, or conservator of the subject
· a sibling of the subject (applies to death certificates only)
· a personal representative of the subject’s estate
· a licensed attorney
·  the person who filed the birth or death record or a representative of the organization that filed the birth or death record
· a successor of the subject, if the subject is deceased
·  a trustee of a trust (applies to death certificates only)
·  a representative of an adoption agency
· a representative of a local, state, or federal governmental agency
· a person with a court order directing release of the certificate
· a person who can demonstrate that the certificate is needed for the determination or protection of a personal or property right
· a person who has a notarized authorization from one of the above individuals to get the certificate on his or her behalf   

If you have questions about tangible interest, email MDH at health.issuance@state.mn.us  
________________________________________________________________________________________________________

How do I get a birth certificate?

You must complete an application.

Use the Birth Certificate Application English (PDF) or Birth Certificate Application Spanish (PDF)   form to order a certificate. You must sign and date the application in front of a notary public if applying by mail or in front of county staff if applying in person.

You must meet the legal requirements to get a certified birth certificate.
· You must complete an application to request a certificate.
· You must show valid identification.
· You must sign your application.
· You can get a birth certificate only if you have tangible interest.
· You must qualify to get a confidential record in addition to having tangible interest.
· You must pay a fee of $26. If you order more than one copy, each additional copy of the same record requested at the same time is $19. Fees are non-refundable, per Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226.
· You will receive a “Statement of No Birth Record Found” if you request a certificate and the state or county vital records office cannot identify or find a record using the information you provide.

Payment is required to get a birth certificate and most other vital records documents.

The fees are the same at all county vital records offices statewide. See Mower County payment options above. The State Office of Vital Records accepts payment by credit card (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover), check or money order. 

All certificates are mailed using First Class Mail®. If you would like your certificate returned by priority or overnight mail please provide the appropriate self-addressed stamped envelope. Contact the county for more information at (507) 437-9535. We are not responsible for deliveries that do not require signatures.

If you want a copy of a record for a birth that occurred in another state, see the National Center for Health Statistics website for contact information.

How long does it take to get a birth certificate?

If you need a birth certificate quickly, make your request in person or by mail to one of the 109 county vital records offices in Minnesota.

It takes the Minnesota Department of Health two to three weeks to process a request for a birth certificate. Rush processing and rush shipping via United Parcel Service (UPS) are available for additional fees.

If you mailed your request to a county vital records office, check with that office to find out when your request will be processed.

For in person service: Visit any Minnesota county vital records office. Pre-1935 records are available only in the county of birth. In person service is available only at county vital records offices; the State Office of Vital Records does not have walk-in service.

For service by Mail: Use the Birth Certificate Application (PDF) form to order a certificate. You must sign and date the application in front of a notary public if applying by mail. You can mail your application to:

Mower County Auditor/Treasurer
201 1st Street NE, Suite 5
Austin, MN 55912  

If ordering for multiple persons please complete an application for each person.
**If you order a certificate from the Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health, please allow approximately two to three weeks for the office to process your request. Requests for changes or other services in addition to a certificate may take longer. The State Office of Vital Records offers rush processing for an additional fee, and rush shipping for an additional fee.  

Changing a Birth Record

Accurate birth records are a priority for the Office of Vital Records. State and county vital records staff work closely with hospitals and families to assure that information is correct.

Hospital birth registrars collect the information required to register births from parents and other sources at the time of a child’s birth. The birth registrar enters the collected information into a statewide electronic vital records system where it is securely stored. Birth certificates print from the statewide electronic vital records system for persons who complete a birth certificate application and pay a fee. The law limits who can obtain a certified birth certificate. (See tangible interest above)

Birth records contain a lot of information but only some of that information - certification items – prints on a certificate. Certification items include a subject’s:
· First, middle, and last name
· Date of birth
· Time of birth
· Plurality (single, twin, triplet, etc.)
· Sex
· Place of birth (name of hospital or facility, city, county, state)
· Parent’s name (first, middle, last)
· Parent’s name at birth (mother’s name before first marriage)
· Parent’s date of birth
· Parent’s place of birth

In spite of efforts to make sure that birth records are accurate, information sometimes needs to be changed or added.

Corrections

You may correct or add certification items (listed above) within one year of the birth, and before you have purchased a certificate. If you have already purchased a certificate and need to change a certification item, see the Amendments section below.

As a parent, you can review the information that the birth registrar collects for the birth record when the birth registrar enters the record into the electronic vital records system. You can also review the items that will print on the birth certificate when you receive the Parent Notice sent by the county vital records office soon after the birth of your child. You may use the Parent Notice to make corrections to information that prints on the birth certificate before you purchase a birth certificate.

The hospital that filed the birth record, county vital records offices, and the Office of Vital Records has authority to correct birth records. Depending on the correction, documentation may be required. No fee is required to make a correction.

Amendments

If you have already purchased a certificate, or it is more than one year after the birth, any changes to certification items (listed above) require an amendment application, documentation, and a fee. The Birth Record Amendments webpage provides information about requesting an amendment to a birth record.

Replacements

A new birth record is created when there is an adoption, when paternity is established or adjudicated, or upon a court order. The new birth record replaces any other birth record that may exist for that individual and shows no evidence of the previous birth record. The Office of Vital Records replaces birth records after receiving the required documentation and fee.

Information about adoption-related records is on the Birth Records after an Adoption page. For information about adding a father to a birth record, see the Birth Records and Paternity page.  

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Death Certificates

The Office of Vital Records maintains death records for the state of Minnesota. Deaths have been registered electronically since 1997. State death records start in 1908. If you want a copy of a death record prior to those years please contact the county vital records office in the county where the death occurred.

If you want a copy of a record for a death that occurred in another state, see the National Center for Health Statistics website for contact information.

Where do I get a death certificate?

Death certificates are available from all county vital records offices and the state. Walk-in service is available at county local issuance offices only. Service through the mail is available from state and county offices. The Minnesota Office of Vital Records does not have walk-in service.

For in person service: Visit any Minnesota county vital records office for records 1997-present. Pre-1997 records are available only in the county of death or through the Minnesota Office of Vital Records (see below). Pre-1908 records are available only in the county of death.  

Apply by mail to the MN Office of Vital Records for records 1908-present. The Death Certificate Application (PDF) must be signed and dated in front of a notary public if applying by mail. You can mail your application to:

Mower County Auditor/Treasurer
201 1st Street NE, Suite 5
Austin, MN 55912

How long does it take to get a death certificate?

If you need a death certificate quickly, make your request in person or by mail to one of the 109 county vital records offices in Minnesota.

It takes the Minnesota Department of Health two to three weeks to process a request for a death certificate. Rush processing and rush shipping via United Parcel Service (UPS) are available through the State Office of Vital Records for additional fees.

How do I get a death certificate?

Regardless of where you go to get a Minnesota certificate, you must complete an application. Use the Death Certificate Application (PDF) to order a certificate.  

You must meet the legal requirements to get a certified death certificate.
· You must complete an application to request a certificate.
· You must show valid identification. 
· You must sign your application.
· You can get a death certificate only if you have tangible interest.
· You must pay a fee of $13. If you order more than one copy, each additional copy of the same record requested at the same time is $6. Fees are non-refundable, as per Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226.
· You will receive a “Statement of No Death Record Found” if you request a certificate and the state or county vital records office cannot identify or find a record using the information you provide.

Payment is required to get a death certificate and most other vital records documents.

The fees are the same at all county vital records offices statewide. See Mower County payment options above. The State Office of Vital Records accepts payment by credit card (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover), check or money order. 

If you order a death certificate from the Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health, please allow approximately four to six weeks for the office to process your request.

All certificates are mailed using First Class Mail®. If you would like your certificate returned by priority or overnight mail please provide the appropriate self-addressed stamped envelope. Contact the county for more information at (507) 437-9535. We are not responsible for deliveries that do not require signatures.

If you still have questions about how to apply for a death certificate, email the Minnesota Office of Vital Records at health.vitalrecords@state.mn.us or call 651-201-5970.

Where can I get more information on a death or birth?

If you have questions about Minnesota birth/death certificates, email the Office of Vital Records at health.vitalrecords@state.mn.us or call 651-201-5970. You may also contact the Mower County Auditor-Treasure Office at (507)437-9535.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Marriage License

Instructions for Completing Marriage License Application
Application to Request a Certified Record of Marriage
Search for a Minnesota Marriage Certificate
(external site)
Marriage License Application
List of Officiants that will perform marriages
Auditor/Treasurers Office
201 1st Street NE, Suite 5
Austin, MN  55912

(507) 437-9535   fax: (507) 434-2646
Home

Directory

County Board

Employment

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mower County On Line Logo